Pirates: The Orgone Chronicles, Book 2 by Nobilis Reed

Oh there are so many things to do…!!!

I have read 10 or so books this year already, but not had time to write reviews (or even log them!).  However, I won two books on Goodreads recently and, having finished the first of these, felt obligated to write a review!

Here it is: it’s spoiler-free!!

Pirates: The Orgone Chronicles, Book TwoPirates: The Orgone Chronicles, Book Two by Nobilis Reed

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

First off, I’m going to try to avoid spoilers – reviews that summarise the book annoy me!

I thought the book was well written – it’s nice to find something grammatically and eloquently written.

I liked the size – larger than the standard paperback up with which I grew (LOL). I was less emamoured of the typeface, but that’s a really personal thing! Oh! the paper – really nice – soft and strong and far enough off-white and matt enough to avoid glare.

The basis of the story is good, but I found the plot moved very slowly through the book – much of the book was taken up with descriptions of the couplings that happen frequently as this provides power in this universe. Had I read the first book in the series, Scouts, I might have understood this physical (in both sense of the word) law before finding the first such scene on, appropriately, page sechs. I found the descriptions a tad mechanical and not especially…umm…exciting. Having said that, it was gratifying to find that satisfaction for the female characters was most important!

The central characters are quite well drawn, although some of the supporting characters are less so (but maybe they’ll come to the fore in later books). At the end of the book, I wanted to know what happened next (there is a third book – Hunters) but felt that too little had happened in this book – it felt like an installment rather than a complete book even after 238 pages.

All in all an entertaining 6 or so hours and a series I would have been very enthusiastic about when I discovered sci fi at 13/14 (I’m a fair bit older than that now!). Quality work.

I’m claiming this book as No. 6/150 in the Goodreads 2012 Reading Challenge and No. 2 in the Second in Series Reading challenge.
[Links in right hand sidebar]

View all my reviews

2 responses to “Pirates: The Orgone Chronicles, Book 2 by Nobilis Reed

  1. Congratulations for your first Review! Well done! Looking forward to your next! I didn’t sign up for this book giveaway because it was the second book in a series and i always want to start reading with the first book.

  2. Thank you! 🙂
    I’ve started many series in the middle, often not realising they’re a series when I pick up the book, that I didn’t mind.

... and Over To You

