Snakes by Travis Heermann: review

SnakesSnakes by Travis Heermann

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Eddie, a young, pretty single mom, is trying to do the right thing by her three-year-old daughter. She really is. With no education, no job, and a string of loser boyfriends behind her, she faces hard decisions every day. Gas for the car, or food for Joy? She’s already been forced to move back into her mother’s decrepit old trailer in Shady Acres Trailer Court in rural Arkansas. Should she get a normal job working long hours for minimum wage, or should she put on her stiletto heels, bikini bra and micro-skirt and go back to exotic dancing so she can bring home fistfuls of cash for a few hours’ work? When she catches her daughter playing with handfuls of baby copperhead snakes behind the trailer, the choice gets a lot easier: get out of there by the quickest means possible. But at what cost? And is that strange man the devil or her knight in shining armor?

View all my Goodreads reviews

Actual Rating: 3.5 stars…although I don’t think “like” is quite the right word. The book is very well written and packs a massive punch in just 30 pages. In that short space, I felt I got to know – and like – Eddie. From the blurb, I thought I would enjoy this book. The ending, for me, came out of nowhere…and wasn’t what I was expecting at all. It was very cleverly, eloquently and vividly written…and left me feeling most uncomfortable and with questions about what happens next to Joy.

I’m finding trying to write my thoughts on this book without giving away the plot is difficult! I was disappointed at the way the story turned out: I felt that Eddie was too harshly judged and that the ending was unfair to her. Much of what happened around the snakes seemed to to manipulate her actions towards the ending.

In summary: excellent, accomplished wordsmithing, but a disturbing story. For me to have be so caught up in just 30 pages shows just how superb a writer Travis Heermann is. If you like dark, you’ll like this story.

Thank you to Travis for choosing me as a winner in the First Reads Giveaway.

I’m claiming this book as No. 16/150 in the Goodreads 2012 Reading Challenge.
[Links in right hand sidebar]

2 responses to “Snakes by Travis Heermann: review

  1. Pingback: Snakes by Travis Heermann: A further review and more thoughts | englishrosec

  2. Pingback: Great Review for “Snakes”! « Blogging the Muse

... and Over To You

