In My Letterbox (8): Sunday 03 June 2012

__

__

__

Welcome to a combined
In My Letterbox and In My Inbox

Just the three books this week, hence the combined IML and IMI.  I’m looking forward to getting to each one of these 🙂

The Book I won on Goodreads First Reads:

1. Alaskan Hearts by Teri Wilson
Alaskan HeartsAlaskan Hearts by Teri Wilson

Former Alaskan sled-dog musher Ben Grayson is still grieving the tragic loss of his dog team. So much that he put the reins—and his dreams—away.

Now a photographer, Ben’s covering the Gold Rush Trail sled-dog race. He’s surprised his heart isn’t more guarded around lovely journalist Clementine Phillips—until he learns that Clementine plans to handle a sled-dog team herself. Ben can’t bear the thought of Clementine in danger.

So he comes up with a compromise—one to keep her close…forever.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A bit of summer escapism…to the cold and snow of an Alaskan winter – just right for for a wet English summer!!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The Book gifted by Goldratt UK:

1. Critical Chain by Eliyahu Goldratt

Critical ChainCritical Chain by Eliyahu M. Goldratt

Powerful yet simple techniques to solve project management’s toughest problems. This book teaches companies to drastically cut project development times resulting in early completion within budget and without compromising quality or specifications. Project managers and your teams will benefit from Goldratt’s techniques of how to remain focused on the few critical areas and how to prevent your attention from being divided among all of the how to prevent your attention from being divided among all of the projects tasks and resources. Especially useful for dealing with one of the most difficult and pressing management challenges: developing highly innovative new products.
About the Author: One of the world s most sought after business leaders author and educator, Dr. Eli Goldratt. Eli Goldratt had been described by Fortune Magazine as a guru to industry and by Business Week as a genius. His charismatic, stimulating, yet sometimes unconventional style has captured the attention of audiences throughout the world. Eli is a true thinker who provokes others to think.
Eli Goldratt is the creator of the Theory of Constraints (TOC) and is the author of 8 books, including the business best sellers The Goal, It’s Not Luck, and Critical Chain. Goldratt’s Theory of Constraints is used by thousands of companies, and is taught in hundreds of colleges, universities, and business schools. His books have sold over 3 million copies and have been translated into 23 languages. Goldratt’s fascinating work as an author, educator and business pioneer had resulted in the promulgation of TOC into many facets of society and has transformed management thinking throughout the world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I read The Goal about 20 years ago when my boyfriend had it as part of a course. I recently read a couple of other of Eli Goldratt’s books that I picked up at a table top sale. Goldratt UK is giving away copies of The Goal and Critical Chain to interested parties, via their website. I’m delighted to have received this and am looking forward to reading it.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The Book gifted by the author for her 30th birthday!

1. Coffee at Little Angels by Nadine Rose Larter

Coffee at Little AngelsCoffee at Little Angels by Nadine Rose Larter

Phillip, Sarah, Kaitlyn, Caleb, Maxine, Grant, Melanie and Josh grew up in a small town where they spent their high school years together as an inseparable clique. But high school has ended, and they are all living their own “grown up” lives, each under the impression that their group has basically come to an end. When Phillip dies in a hit and run accident, Kaitlyn summons the others to all come back home, forcing a reunion that no one is particularly interested in partaking in.

Coffee at Little Angels follows how each character deals with the death of a childhood friend while at the same time dealing with their own ignored demons after years of separation. Events unfold as the group tries to rekindle the friendship they once shared to honour the memory of a friend they will never see again

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I found this limited free giveaway on Amazon through an event on Goodreads…I’m looking forward to discovering a new-to-me author.

……………..

That’s it for this week. I’m working on the next installment of IMI listing my Amazon downloads and I have some more Netgalley books to tell you about in a future IMM.

I hope you all have a pile of lovely books on your lists – leave a link in your comment and I’ll pop over and have a look 🙂

8 responses to “In My Letterbox (8): Sunday 03 June 2012

  1. Some great books you got there! Hope you’ll enjoy them 😉

    Happy Reading
    Filia @ Anima Libri – Booksoul

    My IMM

  2. A great selection of books I hope you enjoy all of them. If you get a chance here’s my IMM – http://peeringoverthepages.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/in-my-mailbox-6.html

    Happy reading,
    Charlotte

  3. Hehe, congrats on winning your first goodreads giveaway! I won my SECOND after about two or three years of membership XD Can you believe it? YAY US. 😀

    Although I’ve never heard of any of these before, I admit they look super inviting. I’ll want to take a look at these soon 😉

    • Thanks Asher – although it’s not my first goodreads giveaway win. I’m addicted to the giveaways…and they’re determining much of my immediate reading at the moment! Pop back to see the reviews in a few weeks.

... and Over To You

