Tuesday Totals (1) 2012: Week 23

Tuesday Totals – The First

As I’m getting a bit inundated with books and reviews, I thought I would start a weekly round-up of my blog activities – accomplished and planned! There are seven sections of activities; their status for the week 04–10 June 2012 are all given below.

Currently Reading

1. Gull on the Roof by Derek Tangye (65%)

I started this some time ago; it’s a print book I picked up at a table top sale. I recognised the author’s writing style from a cat story anthology I have. In a fit of tidying up, I “lost” the book, finding it again this week. A few “before sleep” sessions should see it finished!

2. Unforgettable Embrace by Joanne Clancy (55%)

I got this ebook during a weekend Amazon giveaway. It’s been a slow read, partly because I’ve also been catching up on the print books I’ve won and I’ve found this book not very inspiring.

Finished This Week

A Vampire’s Dominion by V.M.K. Fewings.

This is a Goodreads First Reads win from a few weeks ago. My review will follow.
The was the only book I finished this week because I’m trying to catch up on reviews, and I’ve been doing quite a bit of blog tidying and improving.

Reviews in Manuscript

I like writing with a pen (or pencil) and paper. In addition, it is more convenient to write by hand, since in the time available, I don’t have access to a computer 🙂 Look out for these reviews coming soon:

1. Defying Drakon by Carole Mortimer
2. Hot Girl’s Friend by Lisa Scott
3. Salsa Invertebraxa by Mozchops
4. The First Rule of Ten by Gay Hendricks & Tinker Lindsey
5. Scarlett’s by A. L. Collins
6. The Serpent Sea by Martha Wells
7. The Wedding Story by Dee Tenorio
8. Little Girls: A Novella by Elton Lord

Reviews Posted

1. Snakes by Travis Heermann: a further review
2. Twined by A.L. Collins
3. Hal Spacejock by Simon Haynes

TBR Shortlist

I’ve been using a very rough priority scheme to choose my next book to read: author gifts (AG) get priority, followed by First Reads (FR) wins and then anything else I fancy! I thought it might be a good idea if I gave this a little more thought and also worked in some of the NetGalley (NG) books for which I’ve been approved.

My immediate reading list is:

1. Columbus Avenue Boys by David Carraturo (AG)
2. Cameron Nation by David Carraturo (AG)
3. Growing up Wired by David Wallace Fleming (AG)
4. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (NG)
5. Timepiece by Myra McEntire
6. Catastrophically Consequential by Stephen C. Bird (FR)
7. Doll Parts by Wayne Simmons (FR)

Blog updates completed

1. First in a Series Reading Challenge updated with comments and books claimed
2. Second in a Series Reading Challenge updated with comments and books claimed
3. WBTC2012 Reading Challenge updated with comments and books claimed
4. Fun Things section reordered, with a separate page each for BFF, IMM and Letterbox Love.

Blog Updates Planned

1. Review Policy – mostly written, partly typed
2. Reviews: My thoughts and philosophy – written, partly typed
3. Tuesday Totals – explanation page to be written, a logo would be nice, but not sure what (and how)
4. Monthly Musings – explanation page to be written, logo to be created; two posts written, need to be typed
5. Blog Improvements – section needed with to do list

All that should keep me busy!

... and Over To You

