Tuesday Totals (3) 2012: Week 25

Tuesday Totals – 17-24 June 2012

Here is my weekly round-up of my blog activities – accomplished and planned – that I use to try to keep myself on track, focused and with a sense of achievement! There are seven sections of activities; this post details their status for the week 17–24 June 2012.
This post is rather late because, as I explained in last Sunday’s IML, real life rather got the better of me for a bit!

Currently Reading

Actually these are what I’m currently reading at the date of the post.

1. Cameron Nation by David Carraturo

I’m disappointed with this book, probably because all the reviews I read were so approving. If you’re interested in my thoughts, feel free to check out my status update comments on Goodreads. There is also an interesting posts from another reader who really likes the book. I am determined to finish the book so I can review it properly.

2. Luke Wood presents More than a Million Words by Luke Wood and others

I won this book of poetry and short stories on Goodreads. I’m enjoying the ideas explored by the various writers, although one in particular has a serious spelling problem. It’s nice to have a book into which you can dip, there is far less guilt involved!

3. The Protectors (A Thriller) by James Piper

One of my free kindle downloads from some time back. I’m reading it because the author contacted me on Goodreads when I added it to my to-read shelf.

Finished This Week

1. The Secret Chamber by Patrick Woodhead

This was, as I expected, an action packed mystery.  Just what I needed to contrast with my recent reading.  I do like a lot of variety in my reading material.

2. The Sword of Kings by Matthew Iden

I follow Matt’s blog, so when he posted that he was giving away three of his short stories over the course of six days, I was in there like a shot (yeah, I’m a freebie tart!). What I found is a treature trove. Matt’s stories are gems – and for those of you addicted to huge tomes and long series, I say: Try these and you will find that when suitably packaged, a short can give just as much enjoyment and food for thought.

3. Assassin by Matthew Iden

The second of Matt’s free books. I liked this less than the first, but it’s still an excellent story.

4. Flash Gold by Lindsay Buroker

A free kindle download. YA Steampunk short/novella. I really enjoyed this – so much I paid for the second installment!

5. Hunted by Lindsay Buroker

The sequel to Flash Gold.  I’d really like to read more, but when I look at my box of TBRs, I can’t justify to myself reading something else!!

Reviews in Manuscript

I like writing with a pen (or pencil) and paper. In addition, it is more convenient to write by hand, since in the time available, I don’t have access to a computer 🙂
Look out for these reviews coming soon:

1. Defying Drakon by Carole Mortimer
2. Hot Girl’s Friend by Lisa Scott
3. Salsa Invertebraxa by Mozchops
4. The First Rule of Ten by Gay Hendricks & Tinker Lindsey
5. Scarlett’s by A. L. Collins
6. The Serpent Sea by Martha Wells
7. The Wedding Story by Dee Tenorio
8. Little Girls: A Novella by Elton Lord
9. Unforgettable Embrace by Joanne Clancy
10. Dead(ish) by Naomi Kramer
11. A Vampire’s Dominon by V. M. K. Fewings
12. Bone Machine by C. N. James
13. Columbus Avenue Boys by David Carraturo

Reviews Posted

None – shocking performance!!

TBR Shortlist

I’ve been using a very rough priority scheme to choose my next book to read: author gifts (AG) get priority, followed by First Reads (FR) wins and then anything else I fancy! I thought it might be a good idea if I gave this a little more thought and also worked in some of the NetGalley (NG) books for which I’ve been approved.

My immediate reading list is:

1. Seven into the Bleak by Matthew Iden
2. Growing up Wired by David Wallace Fleming (AG)
3. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (NG)
4. Timepiece by Myra McEntire
5. Catastrophically Consequential by Stephen C. Bird (FR)
6. Doll Parts by Wayne Simmons (FR)

Blog updates completed

1. Tuesday Totals – two posts made, template created
2. Bookish Funny Friday – one more posted

Blog Updates Planned

1. Review Policy – mostly written, partly typed
2. Reviews: My thoughts and philosophy – written, partly typed
3. Tuesday Totals – explanation page to be written, a logo would be nice, but not sure what (and how)
4. Monthly Musings – explanation page to be written, logo to be created; two posts written, need to be typed
5. Blog Improvements – section needed with to do list

Not much progress made on my blog in the last few weeks; it’s been a busy one in real life. Having this list to come back to is useful as it keeps me on track and stops me heading off in random directions! 🙂
What do you have planned for your blog?  How do you decide which book to read next???

... and Over To You

