Tuesday Totals (4) 2012: Weeks 26 – 29

Tuesday Totals – 25 June to 22 July 2012

Here is my weekly (well that’s the aim) round-up of my blog activities – accomplished and planned – that I use to try to keep myself on track, focused and with a sense of achievement! There are seven sections of activities; this post details their status for the weeks 25 June to 22 July 2012.
This post is rather long because, as I explained in the last TT, real life rather got the better of me for a bit and I’m playing catch-up!

Currently Reading

Actually these are what I’m currently reading at the date of the post.

1. Cameron Nation by David Carraturo

Still only moving on slowly with this one…I really don’t want to pick it back up!

2. Luke Wood presents More than a Million Words by Luke Wood and others

I’ve nearly finished this one.  I try not to read too many in one go, so I can savour each piece.

3. Growing Up Wired by David Wallace Fleming

An author Kindle book gift.  It’s been on my TBR list for a while and I’ve finally got to it.  A little strange, but the question it poses is important in our electronic world.

Finished This month

1. The Protectors (A Thriller) by James Piper

I enjoyed this book. Quite a few twists and turns and the reveal at the end was skillfully done.

2. Doll Parts by Wayne Simmons (FR)

A excellent zombie story, without any of the clichés found in other zombie books.  The characters were each unique, rather than stereotypical.

3. Jewels by Lakisha Spletzer

An interesting YA SciFi novel, first in a series.

4. Seven into the Bleak by Matthew Iden (AG)

The third of Matthew’s Amazon giveaways.  I liked this one best of all – in the fullness of time, it will have two reviews, one spoiler-free and one spoiler-full where I discuss what the story meant to me, in the way I did with my Snakes reviews.

5. Sanctuary by Glyn Smith-Wild (FR)

A romance with a difference: There was nothing formulaic about this book…and I’m looking forward to the next one!

6. Catastrophically Consequential by Stephen C. Bird (FR)

A strange collection of loosely linked bizarre tales, that nontheless shed light on life as we know it…

7. The Haunted Grove and other Stories by Tim Jeffreys (FR)

I wasn’t all that keen on the book based on the blurb, but the stories are so much better than the expectation it engenders.  I really enjoyed this selection and am really glad I won it.

8. The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy (FR)

Fantastic!  From the moment I opened the parcel, I loved this book.  The writing did not disappoint.

9. Alaskan Hearts by Teri Wilson (FR)

This is a Harlequin book – but with a difference.  Yes: boy gets girl, but more subtly and realistically than in most Harlequin books.

10. Alice Parker’s Metamorphosis by Nicola Palmer (FR)

I loved this book and want to read the rest of the series.  I’m considering giving the book to my neice…if I can part with it!

11. Dangerous Waters by Anne Allen (AG)

A mystery romance set on Guernsey.  I enjoyed the plot twists.

12. Redhead by Ian Cook (FR)

Great book!

13 Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (NG)

Buy tissues.  Read this. Give thanks.  Superbly written.

Reviews in Manuscript

I like writing with a pen (or pencil) and paper. In addition, it is more convenient to write by hand, since in the time available, I don’t have access to a computer 🙂
Look out for these reviews coming soon:

1. Defying Drakon by Carole Mortimer
2. Hot Girl’s Friend by Lisa Scott
3. Salsa Invertebraxa by Mozchops (90% typed!)
4. The First Rule of Ten by Gay Hendricks & Tinker Lindsey
5. Scarlett’s by A. L. Collins
6. The Serpent Sea by Martha Wells
7. The Wedding Story by Dee Tenorio
8. Little Girls: A Novella by Elton Lord
9. Unforgettable Embrace by Joanne Clancy
10. Dead(ish) by Naomi Kramer
11. A Vampire’s Dominon by V. M. K. Fewings
12. Bone Machine by C. N. James
13. Columbus Avenue Boys by David Carraturo
14. Catestrophically Consequential by Stephen C. Bird
15. The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy
16. Darker by Degree by Keri Knutson & Susan Branham
17. Sanctuary by Glyn Smith-Wild

Reviews Posted

None – shocking performance!!

TBR Shortlist

I’ve been using a very rough priority scheme to choose my next book to read: author gifts (AG) get priority, followed by First Reads (FR) wins and then anything else I fancy! I thought it might be a good idea if I gave this a little more thought and also worked in some of the NetGalley (NG) books for which I’ve been approved.

My immediate reading list is:

1. Timepiece by Myra McEntire
2. Wolf Dawn by Susan Cartwright (AG)
3. For That Day by Low Kay Hwa (AG)
4. The Great Firewall by Michael C. Boxall (AG)
5. Coffee at Little Angels by Nadine Rose Larter (AG)
6. Monkey with a Pin by Pete Comley (AG)

Blog updates completed

1. Tuesday Totals – three posts
2. Bookish Funny Friday – 11th posted, 12th scheduled

Blog Updates Planned

1. Review Policy – mostly written, partly typed
2. Reviews: My thoughts and philosophy – written, partly typed
3. Tuesday Totals – explanation page to be written, a logo would be nice, but not sure what (and how)
4. Monthly Musings – explanation page to be written, logo to be created; two posts written, need to be typed
5. Blog Improvements – section needed with to do list

Not much progress made on my blog in the last few weeks; it’s been a busy one in real life. Having this list to come back to is useful as it keeps me on track and stops me heading off in random directions! 🙂
What do you have planned for your blog?  How do you decide which book to read next???

... and Over To You

