In My Letterbox: (15) Sunday 12 August 2012

__

__

__

Welcome to
In My Letterbox!!

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren and Letterbox Love is a British take on the idea. If you want to know more, there is information under the Fun Things heading above, or you can click on the pictures at the top of this post to take you to the hosts’ blogs.

These posts are to tell you about the books I have acquired recently. I know most bloggers call all such posts “In My Mailbox”, however, as I’m English, my physical post comes through my letterbox and my electronic mail arrives in my mailbox (or my inbox…). So I have decided to use the following terms:

In My Letterbox (IML) for the physical books I aquire;
In My Mailbox (IMM) for the NetGalley books or ebooks sent to me for review by authors;
In My Inbox (IMI) for the free Kindle ebooks I compulsively download!

***************************

Another quiet week on the book acquisition front.  I have received two Frist Reads wins and bought just one book – for 30p from a charity stall!  Read on to find out what they are 🙂

Books I have won on Goodreads First Reads:

1. Spin Doctor by M C Lewis

Spin DoctorSpin Doctor by M.C. Lewis

Jack Abbott is a Washington spin doctor who longs to make the big time: the White House. Once there, he’ll do almost anything to hold onto his job. Will the country re-elect his boss, President Dexter, a beloved widower with a secret, because of Jack’s skillful deception? Will Jack’s conscience finally surface and spur him to make amends? Or is it too late?

Spin Doctor has a Washington theme, a realistic story and a soul. And unlike many Washington novels, Spin Doctor is not a memoir or polemic, not a message book or a thriller. Politically neutral, it goes to deeper truths: the conflict we all have between ambition and conscience. Spin Doctor is Washington from the inside, with humor and authenticity.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m looking forward to this, it sounds to be an interesting and thought-provoking read.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

2. Johnny Doesn’t Drink Champagne by Cody Young

Johnny Doesn't Drink ChampagneJohnny Doesn’t Drink Champagne by Cody Young

I’m seventeen and he’s twenty-one. That’s okay… isn’t it? He drives a Lamborghini. So what? He was born in 1462. Uh-oh. He seeks revenge, but there is one person standing in his way. Me.

On a high school trip to London, Madison Lambourne meets seductive stranger Johnny De Vere, who believes he knows her already, and is torn between love and revenge. Eager to learn more about this beautiful, lonely young man, Madison agrees to go with him to a re-enactment at the Tower of London. Dressed as a highborn medieval lady in a black velvet gown, she accidentally slips through a doorway that leads to the past. Knowing she will not last long on the streets of medieval London, Johnny must follow her… with devastating consequences for them both. A wild time-travel adventure full of love, lies, mystery and betrayal.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yay! A time-travelling love story…just what I need to escape!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Books I have bought:

The Consul at Sunset by Gerald Hanley

I really like “The Reprint Society” books from the 50s… love the feel and the smell.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

……………..

A quiet week, as I said. Looking forward to catching up with reading and reviewing. What arrived through your letterbox this week? Do leave a note below, with a link to your post 🙂

4 responses to “In My Letterbox: (15) Sunday 12 August 2012

  1. I’m always curious to see that people do actually win Goodreads books so well done you!

  2. Amanda's Writings

    Congrats on winning books from Goodreads! Happy reading!

    My IMM

... and Over To You

