Waiting on Wednesday (2): Wednesday 15 August 2012

Welcome to
Waiting on Wednesday!!

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. You can click on the picture at the top of this post to take you to the host’s blog.

Here are some upcoming books from Strange Chemistry, a relatively new imprint specialising in YA Sci-Fi and Fantasy.

***************************

Broken by A. E. Rought

Imagine a modern spin on Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein where a young couple’s undying love and the grief of a father pushed beyond sanity could spell the destruction of them all.

A string of suspicious deaths near a small Michigan town ends with a fall that claims the life of Emma Gentry’s boyfriend, Daniel. Emma is broken, a hollow shell mechanically moving through her days. She and Daniel had been made for each other, complete only when they were together. Now she restlessly wanders the town in the late Fall gloom, haunting the cemetary and its white-marbled tombs, feeling Daniel everywhere, his spectre in the moonlight and the fog.

When she encounters newcomer Alex Franks, only son of a renowned widowed surgeon, she’s intrigued despite herself. He’s an enigma, melting into shadows, preferring to keep to himself. But he is as drawn to her as she is to him. He is strangely…familiar. From the way he knows how to open her locker when it sticks, to the nickname she shared only with Daniel, even his hazel eyes with brown flecks are just like Daniel’s. The closer they become, though, the more something inside her screams there’s something very wrong with Alex Franks.

And when Emma stumbles across a grotesque and terrifying menagerie of mangled but living animals within the walls of the Franks’ estate, creatures she surely knows must have died from their injuries, she knows.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Oooh! Spooky! I do love a paranormal mystery! Broken definitely looks to fit that particular penchant if mine. This will probably sound pedantic, however, I do think that last sentence of the blurb ought to read: “… creatures she surely knows should have died…” since in the first part of the sentence we’re told they are in fact living and the “… must have died …” implies they are dead.  Well, I did warn you!

Broken is published by Strange Chemistry and is released on 03 January 2013 in the UK and 01 January 2013 in the US/Canada and internationally as an ebook.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Pantomime by Laura Lam

R.H. Ragona’s Circus of Magic is the greatest circus of Ellada. Nestled among the glowing blue Penglass – remnants of a mysterious civilisation long gone – are wonders beyond the wildest imagination. It’s a place where anything seems possible, where if you close your eyes you can believe that the magic and knowledge of the vanished Chimeras is still there. It’s a place where anyone can hide.

Iphigenia Laurus, or Gene, the daughter of a noble family, is uncomfortable in corsets and crinoline, and prefers climbing trees to debutante balls. Micah Grey, a runaway living on the streets, joins the circus as an aerialist’s apprentice and soon becomes the circus’s rising star. But Gene and Micah have balancing acts of their own to perform, and a secret in their blood that could unlock the mysteries of Ellada.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pantomime sounds like an other world novel in the tradition of Ursula Le Guin and Andre Norton. Other world stories are my favourite style of sci-fi novel; I’ve devoured many of them in my time!

Pantomime is published by Strange Chemistry and is released on 07 February 2013 in the UK and 05 February 2013 in the US/Canada and internationally as an ebook.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The Holders by Julianna Scott

No Art Work Available

17-year-old Becca has spent her whole life protecting her brother – from their father leaving and from the people who say the voices in his head are unnatural. When two strangers appear with apparent answers to Ryland’s “problem” and details about a school in Ireland where Ryland will not only fit in, but prosper, Becca is up in arms.

She reluctantly agrees to join Ryland on his journey and what they find at St. Brigid’s is a world beyond their imagination. Little by little they piece find out information about their family’s heritage and the legend of the Holder race that decrees Ryland is the one they’ve been waiting for—but, they are all, especially Becca, in for a surprise that will change what they thought they knew about themselves and their kind.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m intrigued by the precis of The Holders and am looking forward to reading it.  Hidden potential stories are always peculiarly satisfying.

The Holders is published by Strange Chemistry and is released on 07 March 2013 in the UK and 05 March 2013 in the US/Canada and internationally as an ebook.

.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.

Three exciting books to look forward to seeing in the shops.  If you want to know more, the links under “Strange Chemistry” will take you to their pages about the books in question where you can find links to your favourite online shops – and can pre-order.

Advertisements

5 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (2): Wednesday 15 August 2012

  1. Hi there. Thanks for featuring BROKEN and my fellow Strange Chemistry author titles on you WoW post!

    The last sentence that you have questions on how it’s worded? If you read the book, you will figure it out, hon ~_^

  2. Pingback: Poltergeeks by Sean Cummings: review | englishrosec

  3. Are you aware of Strange Chemistry’s lunch event? You can enter this blog post link for a chance to win a Kindle, or year’s supply of Strange Chemistry titles

    http://strangechemistrybooks.com/2012/07/25/strange-chemistry-imprint-launch/ go check it out!

    • Hi Ann, thanks for the info! And the link…I struggled to re-find the post earlier today 😉 I’m now all caught up on linking my Strange Chemistry posts.
      Would you be interested in doing an interview for my blog sometime? Maybe to be posted in the run up to Broken’s publication? If you would, could you contact me via Goodreads and then we can exchange emails.
      Thanks in advance and anticipation!

... and Over To You

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s